The Game of Law

For about a year now (maybe more because my excitement for law school is too much to contain lol) I have been reading all kinds of law blogs and lawyer blogs and law student tips and news blogs like Above the law, Top Law Schools (TLS) forums, Ms JD, Law-School-Hacker etc. (to name a few). I have learned A LOT…what to expect, what I can do to prepare, what I should do during, application tips, transferring chances, how ranking works, etc.- basically tips about hacking the system. Ultimately though, what I have come to realize from all this research is that law school is a GAME. Except, unlike any other game, most people don’t know the rules, don’t know how to play, and are low-key being misled by the teachers/leaders of the game (a.k.a. your professors). Resulting in a blood bath of confusion as unexpected candidates rise to the top, and that person who worked relentlessly briefing every case, or that person who you thought sounded the smartest in class, all end up with mediocre grades in the middle of the pack. 

It isn’t the person who works the hardest, nor the person who has the most intelligence who will ultimately win. It’s  the person who works the SMARTEST within the system of the game- combined with a superb work ethic- who will win the Game of Law School.

The majority of people going into law school are going in with the mindset that they’ll work to be in the top (top 10% usually gets you on Law Review, and possibly a scholarship depending on your school). 90% of them will be wrong. 

If you don’t want to be in that great majority, the key is to get ahead of the game.

To know as much of the rules and moves as you can before you start.

I intend to be the best. Unlike everyone else however, my intentions are backed by months of research and advice from top 10percenters at top law schools (i.e. Standford, UCLA, Berkley, etc.), current lawyers, and law professors.

The first of my steps towards success this summer is 0L Prep.

I’m poor, so I wont be spending $1500 on some fancy Kaplan law school prep that most people say doesn’t help them any way lol.

I have however, researched the best books, the best type of prep, and what I should be working to understand prior to starting, so if you’re interested check out my next post detailing my whole plan and the books with some links to other blogs or forums that helped me form my plan.

Until then…

2 thoughts on “The Game of Law

  1. I’ve done similar research and come to similar conclusions, and I’m glad to see I’m not alone. If I make law school happen (a game in itself), I’ll be a non-traditional student potentially dragging down a spouse and two young children, so I must also win. It’s play for the top 10% or don’t play at all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

