My Light Will Not Be Extinguished

rage

Every Month, Every Week, Every Day…a new hashtag, a new tragedy, a new death.

When you have to fear for your life, even in a place of worship (and there was a second church shooting in Memphis today, probably because someone has idolized the Charleston attack), it’s hard to go about your life without being in a constant state of fear.

Fear that the next hashtag will be your mother, your father, your brothers, your sisters…YOU.

Sometimes I’m filled with rage…

I think, will it ever end? How much pain, and oppression must we endure?

Sometimes…I can’t breathe and I can’t focus and it seems like there’s no hope. It’s hard to do anything but think about all of the injustice. Not only in America, and not only to black people but to people of color all over the world. Palestine, the Dominican Republic..there is injustice and oppression everywhere.

I can’t let it kill my drive though.

It is things like this that push me further and deepen my passion for law and becoming a person who causes and contributes to change. Change in the system, change in our communities, and overall change in our society.

I will not let my light be extinguished.

I will work to use every opportunity God gives me to contribute to changing this ugly world.

-Kristin

Leave a Reply

